I hear and I forget – that thing!

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. - Confucius

This quote may be from Confucius although it is sometimes attributed to others.

It is, though, at best misleading and used to justify activity rather than what actually needs to be actualised for learning.

To learn we need to think. The more we think and the different ways in which we think about something is the clue to securing a memory.

It would be better written as:

I hear and then think about what I have heard and I learn

I see and think about what I have seen and I learn

I do and I might get distracted by the doing.

Not quite as snappy as the original, sadly. Is Confucius on Twitter?

Leave a Reply

